Oxfam : utiliser Okta pour connecter les applications (et les individus)

Regarder la vidéo
20

organisations affiliées connectées via Okta Identity Cloud

92

pays où les applications clés sont accessibles (Office 365, Box, Workplace by Facebook, etc.)

  • Améliorer les connexions
  • Collaborer dans le cloud
  • Une solution sécurisée
  • Optimiser la collaboration
Améliorer les connexions

Jusqu'en 2014, les 20 organisations composant la confédération Oxfam International fonctionnaient toutes avec leurs propres services d'annuaire, sans aucune fédération. Il était alors difficile pour chacune d’elles et ses membres de collaborer par-delà les frontières géographiques et organisationnelles. Oxfam savait qu'il fallait résoudre ce problème pour pouvoir augmenter la productivité et maximiser les dons.

Collaborer dans le cloud

Soucieuse de moderniser son infrastructure IT, la confédération a adopté un certain nombre d'applications cloud pour permettre à ses affiliés de partager des services. Mais pour fédérer les nouvelles applications, comme Box, Workplace by Facebook, ServiceNow et Compass, il lui fallait une couche de gestion des identités et de la sécurité. C’est là qu'Okta intervient.

Une solution sécurisée

La confédération a décidé d'adopter les solutions Okta Single Sign-On, Lifecycle Management et Universal Directory, qu'elle a déployées à grande échelle en même temps que Box. En procédant ainsi, Oxfam a pu utiliser des groupes de sécurité locaux pour provisionner les accès à Box, puis créer des règles d'accès simples. Au vu de la réussite de ce déploiement, Oxfam a décidé d'intégrer également ses autres applications.

Optimiser la collaboration

Une fois la nouvelle infrastructure opérationnelle, une équipe Okta Professional Services a aidé Oxfam à procéder aux derniers ajustements. Désormais, les utilisateurs des différents pays peuvent partager des fichiers et des expériences, et Oxfam a réduit ses frais généraux tout en améliorant sa sécurité et sa productivité.

L'identité est au centre de la collaboration d'Oxfam

Oxfam crée des solutions durables contre la faim, la pauvreté et l'injustice sociale avec plus de 8 000 employés et 72 000 bénévoles dans 92 pays dans le monde. Okta joue un rôle déterminant dans la fourniture d’un accès transparent et sécurisé à la pile de solutions d’Oxfam qui relie les 20 organisations affiliées dans le but de fournir une identité numérique à chacun des participants au programme Oxfam.

Nous travaillons avec 5 800 partenaires dans les pays où nous proposons nos programmes. Je trouve absolument essentiel que, comme Oxfam, ces organisations aient accès aux outils et technologies qui peuvent les aider à avoir plus d’impact. Je suis très satisfait d'Okta et de la constante mobilisation de la communauté technologique pour déployer ces solutions.

Grant Holton Picard, Enterprise Architect pour Oxfam International

Un appel à la collaboration

Saviez-vous que les huit personnes les plus riches du monde possèdent autant de richesse que les 3,6 milliards d'individus les plus pauvres ? Pleinement conscient de la situation, Oxfam International se bat pour éradiquer la pauvreté dans le monde.

La confédération tire sa force de ses 20 organisations affiliées. Mais lorsque ces dernières œuvrent dans 92 pays (du Yémen aux Kiribati en passant par le Brésil), réunir l'ensemble des membres pour échanger ou partager des informations peut relever de la gageure.

Quels que soient les projets et le lieu d'intervention de ces organisations, elles partagent toutes un même objectif : éradiquer la pauvreté en combattant les inégalités et la discrimination, et en veillant à ce que chacun ait accès à un emploi correct et à des ressources comme l'eau et la nourriture. Mais les frontières géographiques et organisationnelles étaient un frein à la collaboration, dans la mesure où chacun des 20 affiliés fonctionnait avec ses propres services d'annuaire, sans aucune fédération.

En 2014, Oxfam s'est donc sérieusement penché sur la problématique de la communication. L'ONG voulait en effet optimiser la collaboration de ses affiliés, mais aussi améliorer la productivité et la sécurité IT pour, à terme, utiliser au mieux chaque don.

« Nous avons réalisé, il y a quelque temps, que nous pouvions maximiser l'impact des dons — ce qui est très, très important — en utilisant des services partagés », explique Michael Duggan, Global Chief Information Officer. « Or, ces services partagés reposent bien sûr en grande partie sur la technologie. Nous avons donc vite compris qu'il nous faudrait proposer ces services IT partagés dans 20 organisations indépendantes, possédant des piles technologiques différentes. »

Pour Michael Duggan, il ne faisait aucun doute que le cloud était la meilleure solution pour augmenter l'agilité et l'efficacité d'Oxfam. Mais la sécurité était également au cœur des préoccupations. « Dans un monde où 90 % des menaces pour la sécurité sont des menaces internes provenant généralement de collaborateurs ou de personnes qui ont obtenu un accès à nos systèmes, poursuit Michael Duggan, nous devons adopter une solution de gestion des identités très performante. »

Intégration avec Box

Oxfam s'est tout d'abord attaqué au partage de fichiers, problème qui a été rapidement résolu grâce à Box. Mais avant de déployer ce dernier, l'équipe IT a tenu à mettre en place une solution de gestion des identités. « Nous avions besoin d'une solution pour connecter rapidement, facilement et en toute sécurité 20 annuaires indépendants à une source de gestion des identités centrale, explique Michael Duggan. Et, qui plus est, compatible avec notre environnement d'annuaires actuel et nos processus. »

« Seul un petit nombre de produits offraient une intégration native avec Box ; nous en avons donc examiné trois », ajoute Grant Holton Picard, Enterprise Architect chez Oxfam. « Okta sortait clairement du lot. Ils répondaient à nos besoins et nous étions persuadés que nous pourrions mettre en place leurs solutions relativement vite. »

Après avoir choisi les solutions Okta Single Sign-On, Lifecycle Management et Universal Directory, Oxfam a testé le déploiement simultané de Box et d'Okta auprès d'un petit groupe de 90 utilisateurs environ en Afrique du Sud. À l'époque, cinq organisations Oxfam de tailles différentes étaient présentes dans ce pays (dont quatre avec Active Directory et une sans). C’était donc le lieu idéal pour tester les nouvelles solutions IT. Ce projet pilote a également été l'occasion pour la confédération de se familiariser avec les processus de déploiement avant une implémentation à plus grande échelle.

En outre, Oxfam a pu s’appuyer sur Okta for Good, une initiative destinée aux organismes à but non lucratif. « Vous pouvez tester Okta sans être lié par un contrat commercial, mais en ayant accès au support. D'ailleurs, l'équipe de support a été d'une aide précieuse et est incroyablement sympathique », confie Grant Holton Picard.

Grant Holton Picard a été particulièrement impressionné par la réactivité de cette équipe. « Vous êtes informé sous une à deux heures que votre demande est prise en charge. Et les techniciens font le maximum pour résoudre les problèmes les plus complexes jusqu'au bout. »

Connecter les collaborateurs

« Une fois Box déployé à grande échelle et opérationnel, nous avons pu adopter les nouveaux produits assez rapidement à mesure qu'ils se présentaient », se félicite Grant Holton Picard. L'équipe IT d'Oxfam a commencé par Workplace by Facebook. Entre le moment où cette application a été suggérée et celui où elle a été déployée intégralement, il ne s’est pas écoulé plus de six mois.

Oxfam a également créé un intranet basé sur Drupal baptisé Compass. Cette fois, par contre, il était impossible de connecter Okta à l’aide d’un connecteur prêt à l'emploi. Heureusement, les API Okta ont sauvé la mise. Elles ont permis à Oxfam de développer ce dont ils avaient besoin pour extraire les utilisateurs de leurs services d'annuaire, via Okta, puis les transmettre à Compass.

Enfin, Oxfam a fait appel à ServiceNow, une application qui était déjà utilisée par l'un de ses principaux affiliés, Oxfam Royaume-Uni. Grâce au connecteur ServiceNow d'Okta, l'application a pu être déployée rapidement chez tous les autres affiliés.

Pour la première fois de son histoire, Oxfam est en mesure de proposer des services à ses équipes sans être entravé par les frontières géographiques ou organisationnelles. Et pour la première fois également, ces équipes peuvent accéder à ces services à l’aide de leur identité locale.

D'un point de vue informatique, Okta est surtout intéressant pour le provisioning et le déprovisioning de nos comptes utilisateurs, que ce soit dans Okta ou dans les services établis.

« D'un point de vue informatique, Okta est surtout intéressant pour le provisioning et le déprovisioning de nos comptes utilisateurs, que ce soit dans Okta ou dans les services établis, se réjouit Michael Duggan. Comme c'est automatisé, les comptes peuvent être ajoutés rapidement dans le système et les collaborateurs sont très vite opérationnels. Il est par ailleurs très facile de supprimer du système les autorisations de ceux qui quittent l'organisation. C'est tout simplement fantastique. Nous réduisons notre charge de travail tout en préservant notre sécurité. »

Perspectives d'avenir

Bien sûr, Oxfam ne veut pas en rester là. Maintenant que chacun des utilisateurs de ses organisations affiliées peut rester facilement connecté, la confédération souhaite octroyer à ses partenaires et bénévoles un accès à certaines parties de sa pile Digital Workplace en utilisant Okta comme couche d'accès des identités.

« L’objectif est de fournir une identité numérique à chacun des participants de nos programmes, résume Michael Duggan. Dans un monde où plus de personnes ont accès à Internet qu'à l'eau potable, nous aurons les moyens d'entreprendre des programmes plus efficaces, que ce soit par l'intermédiaire de monnaie électronique ou de retours d’information sur le fonctionnement de la part des participants de nos programmes, de sorte qu'Oxfam puisse s'améliorer et être plus réactif. »

Pour Michael Duggan, cette communauté technologique est un partenaire sur lequel la confédération peut compter pour franchir ces nouvelles étapes.

« Oxfam est l'une des plus grandes ONG au monde, explique-t-il. Ce sont 5 800 partenaires qui travaillent avec nous dans les pays où nous proposons nos programmes. Je trouve absolument essentiel que ces organisations aient accès aux outils et technologies qui peuvent les aider à avoir plus d’impact. Je suis très satisfait d'Okta et de la constante mobilisation de la communauté technologique pour fournir ces solutions à nos partenaires qui manquent cruellement de ressources. »

À propos d'Oxfam International

Leader mondial dans le domaine de l'aide d'urgence, Oxfam International met également en place des programmes de développement à long terme dans les communautés vulnérables. Oxfam fait partie d’un mouvement mondial visant à mettre fin aux règles commerciales inéquitables, à promouvoir l’accès de tous à des services de santé et d’éducation de meilleure qualité, et à lutter contre le changement climatique.

Okta

Looking for Okta Logos?

You can find all the media assets you need as part of our press room.

Download Media Assets

Missed connections

Until 2014, the 20 affiliates that make up Oxfam International were all operating with their own active directories—and no federation at all. This made it difficult for each of the affiliates and its members to collaborate across geographic or organizational boundaries. Oxfam knew that solving this challenge would present an opportunity to increase productivity and maximize donor funds.

Collaboration in the cloud

Oxfam decided to modernize its IT infrastructure, and adopted a number of cloud-based apps that would allow its affiliates to share services. But the new apps, which included Box, Workplace by Facebook, ServiceNow, and Compass, needed an identity and security layer to pull them all together. That’s where Okta came in.

A secure solution

The organization decided to adopt Single Sign-On, Lifecycle Management, and Universal Directory, which it rolled out at the same time Box was deployed across the organization. This decision allowed Oxfam to use local security groups to facilitate the provisioning of access to Box, and then create simple access rules. After a successful deployment, Oxfam decided to integrate its other apps as well.

Better together

After the new infrastructure was up and running, Okta Professional Services helped Oxfam make adjustments to the finer details. Now, users in different countries are able to share files and experiences, and Oxfam has reduced its overhead while increasing security and productivity.

Identity is at the center of Oxfam collaboration

Oxfam creates lasting solutions for hunger, poverty and social injustice with over 8,000 employees and 72,000 volunteers in 92 countries globally. Okta plays an instrumental role in delivering seamless, secure access to Oxfam’s stack of solutions that tie all 20 affiliate organizations togethers with the goal to provide a digital identity to every one of Oxfam program participants.

Watch the full video

We work with 5,800 partners in the countries where we deliver our programs. I think it's absolutely crucial that, just like Oxfam, these organizations get access to the technologies and tools that will help them increase their impact. I'm really excited about Okta and the technology community's ongoing engagement with our sector to deliver these technology solutions.

Grant Holton Picard, Enterprise Architect for Oxfam International

A call for collaboration

Did you know that the world’s eight richest people share the same amount of wealth as the poorest 3.6 billion people? Respected non-profit Oxfam International is well aware—and it’s working hard to eradicate the poverty that plagues so much of our global population.

As a confederacy of 20 different affiliate organizations, Oxfam finds strength in numbers. But when those affiliates work in 92 different countries (everywhere from Yemen to Brazil to Kiribati), it can be difficult to bring people together to share information and ideas.

No matter which individual project these affiliates are working on, and where they’re doing it, all affiliates are working towards a common goal of eradicating poverty by addressing inequality, discrimination and unequal access to resources like food, water, and reasonable employment. But traditional geographic and organizational boundaries made it difficult for everyone to work together—especially since each of the 20 affiliates were operating with their own active directories and no federation.

In 2014, Oxfam started looking closely at the communication challenge. Not only did the organization want to make it easier for affiliates to collaborate, it also wanted to increase IT productivity and security—which would ultimately allow it to stretch donor dollars farther.

“We felt some time ago that we could maximize the impact of our donor money—which is very, very important—through the use of shared services,” says global chief information officer Michael Duggan. “Of course, these shared services depend enormously on technology, and this led to an understanding that we would need to deliver shared IT services across 20 unique organizations with unique technology stacks.”

For Duggan, the cloud was the obvious next step to take Oxfam to new levels of agility and effectiveness. But security was also a concern. “In a world where 90% of all security threats are actually internal and tend to come from employees or those that have been given access to our systems,” says Duggan, “we need to have a very strong identity management solution.”

Unpacking Box

Oxfam tackled their file-sharing challenge first—which it quickly solved with Box. But before rolling it out, the IT team wanted an identity solution in place. “We needed something that would allow us to quickly, easily, and securely connect 20 independent directories to a central identity management source,” says Duggan. “And it needed to work with our current active directory environment and our processes.”

“There was a small handful of products that had native integrations with Box, so we looked at three products,” adds Grant Holton Picard, Oxfam’s Enterprise Architect. “Okta stood out for us; it met our requirements and we thought we’d be able to get it up and running quite quickly.” 

After selecting Okta Single Sign-On, Lifecycle Management, and Universal Directory, Oxfam rolled out Box and Okta together, beginning with a small pilot of about 90 users in South Africa. With five Oxfam affiliates of different sizes running in the country at the time (four with Active Directory and one without) it was an ideal place to test the new IT solutions. The pilot also gave Oxfam a chance to get familiar with the deployment processes before rolling it out to more users.

Oxfam was also able to tap into the Okta for Good, initiative designed specifically for non-profits.  “You can try Okta without getting locked into a commercial contract, but you’re still able to access support. And the support staff was incredibly helpful and incredibly friendly” says Holton Picard.

The responsiveness of the support team particularly impressed Holton Picard. “Within an hour or two, we always get a response that acknowledges a request has gone through. And when the technicians work on some of the trickier challenges, they own them and work them right through to completion.”

A connected workforce

“Once we got Box to scale and had the services up and running, we were able to move ahead quite rapidly with new products as they came along,” says Holton Picard. Oxfam’s IT team started with Workplace by Facebook, and from the moment it was first introduced as an idea, it only took six months to fully deploy the app.

Oxfam also created a Drupal-based intranet called Compass. This time, it couldn’t connect Okta using an out-of-the-box connector, but Okta’s API capability saved the day. It allowed Oxfam to do the development it needed to provision users out of their Active Directories, through Okta, and into Compass.

Oxfam capped the whole thing off with ServiceNow, an app that was already being used by one of its larger affiliates, Oxfam Great Britain. Using the ServiceNow connector in Okta, it was able to quickly roll the app out to everyone else.

Now, for the first time in Oxfam's history, it’s able to provide services to staff members without being limited by geographic or organizational boundaries. And it's the first time they’ve been able to access those services using their local identity.

From an IT point of view, the best part of Okta is that we can easily provision and deprovision our user accounts, both into Okta and to the established services.

“From an IT point of view, the best part of Okta is that we can easily provision and deprovision our user accounts, both into Okta and to the established services,” says Duggan. “It's automated, so we can quickly get accounts into the system and get people up and running, plus we’re easily able to remove their permissions from the system when they leave the organization. And that's just fantastic. It really reduces our overhead, while maintaining our security.”

Looking to the future

Of course, Oxfam isn’t done yet. Now that it’s become easier for each of the affiliates’ users to stay connected, the organization wants to grant partners, supporters, and volunteers access to some parts of their Digital Workplace stack using Okta as the identity access layer.

“Our goal is to provide a digital identity to every one of our program participants,” says Duggan. “In a world where more people have access to Internet than clean water, that will provide us with the mechanisms to deliver more effective programming, whether that's through electronic cash or through performance feedback from program participants so that we can be a better, more responsive Oxfam.”

Duggan sees the technology community as a valuable partner in taking these next steps.

“Oxfam is one of the largest NGOs in the world,” he says. “However, we do work with 5,800 partners that are working in the countries where we deliver our programs. I think it's absolutely crucial that these organizations get access to technologies and tools that will help them increase their impact. I'm really excited about Okta, and the technology community's ongoing engagement with our sector to deliver these technology solutions to our hugely under-resourced partners.”

About Oxfam International

A world leader in the delivery of emergency relief, Oxfam International also implements long-term development programs in vulnerable communities. They are part of a global movement to end unfair trade rules, demand better health and education services for all, and to combat climate change.