Siemens Mobility Services verbessert die Kundenerfahrung mit Okta

100+

Apps von Okta gesichert, einschließlich AWS, Azure AD, O365 und ServiceNow

0

Ausfälle seit der Implementierung von Okta

  • Bahnbrechende Modernisierung
  • Eine erfolgreiche Demo
  • Problemlose Einführung
  • Eine verlässliche, flexible Plattform
Bahnbrechende Modernisierung

Siemens Mobility Services stellt Kunden ein hochmodernes Analytics und Monitoring-Portal zur Verfügung, mit dem sie Fahrzeuge orten und Probleme unkompliziert beheben können. Um Ausfälle zu eliminieren, Kosten zu reduzieren und die Markteinführung neuer Produkte und Features zu beschleunigen, modernisierte das Unternehmen seine On-Premises-Infrastruktur mit einem Umzug zu Amazon Web Services (AWS). Dafür benötigte es eine starke Identitätsverwaltung.

Eine erfolgreiche Demo

Das Unternehmen stellte schnell fest, dass traditionelle Identitätslösungen zu komplex und teuer waren, und zudem das Ausfallrisiko erhöhten. Nach Absprache mit AWS testete Siemens Mobility Services deshalb zunächst eine Demo von Okta. Begeistert vom eingebauten Dashboard und den vorkonfigurierten Integrationen beschloss das Unternehmen, eine ganze Reihe von Okta-Produkten zu implementieren.

Problemlose Einführung

Für die Implementierung holte sich Siemens Mobility Services Unterstützung von UniCloud, einem Added Value Distributor, der auf digitale Identitätslösungen wie Okta spezialisiert ist. UniCloud half Siemens Mobility Services dabei, SAML und OpenID Connect einzurichten, und Okta mit allen wesentlichen Applikationen zu integrieren. In kürzester Zeit waren alle Nutzer ins Okta Universal Directory migriert und von Oktas Single Sign-On- und Multifaktor-Authentifizierungs-Lösungen abgesichert. Dies vereinfachte den Zugriff auf die meistgenutzten Apps enorm und sorgte für zusätzliche Sicherheit.

Eine verlässliche, flexible Plattform

Mit Okta konnte Siemens Mobility Services Ausfälle komplett eliminieren, sodass Kunden jederzeit und von jedem Ort aus Zugriff auf alle benötigten Informationen haben. Dank weniger Wartungsaufwand kann sich das Unternehmen auf die wirklich wichtigen Dinge konzentrieren — die Kundenerfahrung und eine kürzere Time-to-Market. Und das Beste: Keine dieser Errungenschaften geht auf Kosten der Sicherheit oder Benutzerfreundlichkeit.

Die Verfügbarkeit von Okta schätzen wir besonders. Wir haben seit der Implementierung keinen einzigen Ausfall erlebt. Und darauf legen wir besonderen Wert, weil sich alle unsere Kunden auf Okta als zentrale Identitäts-Lösung oder Nutzerportal verlassen. Für uns ist es also unternehmenskritisch, die Verfügbarkeit dieser Identitäts-Komponente zu garantieren.

Friedrich Gloeckner, Team Lead Architecture and Software Development, Siemens Mobility Services

Vorteile

  • Einheitliche, optimierte Benutzererfahrung
  • Höhere Transparenz bei Zugriffsanfragen und Analytics
  • Geringere Gesamtbetriebskosten
  • Höhere Ausfallsicherheit
  • Modernisierte IT-Umgebung mit 80% Cloud-Anteil
  • Einfacheres Deployment mit Zugang zu vielen vorkonfigurierten Integrationen
  • Weniger Helpdesk-Anfragen aufgrund von verlorenen und vergessenen Passwörtern
  • Flexible, ISO 27001 zertifizierte Sicherheit, die die strengen Anforderungen von Siemens erfüllt
  • 30-50% Reduktion ungeplanter Wartungsarbeiten für Kunden

Damit Kunden auf Kurs bleiben

Weil unsere Städte immer größer werden und die Verkehrsinfrastruktur immer komplexer, ist es zunehmend wichtig, dass Mobilitätsdienstleister Züge und andere Fahrzeuge jederzeit orten, Verspätungen bewältigen und Infrastruktur-Probleme so schnell wie möglich beheben können. Viele dieser Dienstleister verlassen sich auf die Unterstützung von Siemens Mobility Services, um den Passagierkomfort zu stärken und Unterbrechungen zu minimieren.

“Effizienter Transport ist eine grundlegende Herausforderung für Städte und Mobilitätsdienstleister,” erklärt Friedrich Gloeckner, Team Lead Architecture und Software Development bei Siemens Mobility Services. “Wir sorgen dafür, dass ihre Transportmittel smart, nachhaltig und allgemein attraktiver werden.”

Auf die Digital Services-Abteilung kommt eine noch konkrete Aufgabe zu. Sie, so Gloeckner, “entwickelt und implementiert die neueste und beste Technologie für alle Anwendungsfälle des Bahnbetriebs sowie der Bahninstandhaltung und integriert, überwacht, optimiert und analysiert Zug- und Infrastrukturgüter.” Ihr Hauptziel? Kunden verlässlich und sicher mit kritischen Insights zu versorgen – ohne Ausfälle.

Früher waren Streckennetz-Inspektionen sehr aufwendig: Gleise mussten mit Video-Aufnahmen oder sogar vor Ort von Menschen geprüft werden. Dieses Vorgehen war nicht nur teuer und zeitraubend, sondern auch sehr anfällig für menschliches Versagen. Alles andere als ideal also für eine Branche, die von Pünktlichkeit lebt.

Mit Siemens Mobility Services können Kunden Probleme mit einer Video Analytics-App erkennen, die mit Machine Learning-Features HD-Videoaufnahmen analysiert und Schäden schneller und präziser identifizieren kann. Wenn die App ein Problem erkennt, erstellt sie automatisch einen Arbeitsauftrag zur Reparatur. Video Track Inspector, so der Name der App, ist über Railigent verfügbar, eine AWS-basierte Anwendung und Analytics-Plattform. Sie wurde von Siemens eigens für Bahnbetreiber entwickelt, um ungeplante Wartungsarbeiten zu unterbinden und Infrastruktur-Ausfälle zu minimieren. “Es ist sozusagen ein One-Stop-Shop für Bahn- und Monitoring-Analytics Software,” so Gloeckner.

Handelt es sich beim Nutzer beispielsweise um einen Flottenbetreiber, ist für den Login bei Railigent nur ein Satz Anmeldeinformationen nötig. Nach dem Login können Nutzer ihre Züge orten und ihren Betriebsstatus überprüfen. Und wenn sie ungeplante Ausfälle entdecken, können sie direkt die Fehlersuche starten – all das, ohne die Benutzeroberfläche von Railigent zu verlassen. Mit den Analytics-Funktionen von Siemens Mobility können Mobilitätsanbieter sogar vorhersagen, wann die nächsten Wartungsarbeiten fällig werden. “Das kann die Verfügbarkeit steigern und dabei den Wartungsaufwand und Betriebskosten reduzieren,” so Gloeckner. “Und genau danach streben unsere Kunden ja.”

Um all das zu erreichen, musste Siemens Mobility Services seine IT-Umgebung aber zunächst grundsätzlich modernisieren. 2014 setzte das Unternehmen noch auf eine überwiegend traditionelle IT-Infrastruktur mit On-Premise-Hosting und einer Reihe von Datenzentren. Mit einer schnelleren Time-to-Market für neue Lösungen wollte Siemens Mobility Services die Kundenerfahrung optimieren und sich dabei Wettbewerbsvorteile verschaffen – doch beide Ziele waren mit einer traditionellen IT-Umgebung beinahe unmöglich.

Das bestätigte sich, als sich Siemens Mobility an einer On-Premise-Version von Railigent versuchte. Daten in Silos zu sammeln war unglaublich schwierig, der Bau und die Erhaltung der On-Premise-Komponenten waren zeitraubend und teuer.

“Da beschlossen wir, von unseren On-Premise-Lösungen zu AWS zu wechseln, um vom Platform-as-a-Service-Ansatz zu profitieren,” so Gloeckner. “Unsere Gesamtstrategie schreibt vor, dass wir unsere Betriebskosten, soweit möglich, mit Platform- und Software-as-a-Service-Lösungen senken – mein Hauptfokus liegt schließlich auf meinem Team, unserer Mission und dem Mehrwert für unsere Kunden.”

Mit der neuen, AWS-basierten Plattform konnte Siemens Mobility Daten einfach konsolidieren, dabei den Wartungsaufwand reduzieren und präzisere Ergebnisse erzielen. Das erreichte das Unternehmen unter anderem, indem es mithilfe verschiedener AWS-Services einen Data Lake entwickelte.

“Ein großer Vorteil von AWS ist, dass wir Dienste wie Amazon Elastic MapReduce (EMR) nutzen können, was uns erlaubt, Hadoop-Cluster jeder Art und Größe On-Demand auszuführen, mit einem Pay-As-You-Go-Preismodell,” erklärt Gloeckner. “Wir hatten ja Erfahrung damit, wie schwierig es ist, komplexe Lösungen wie Hadoop in unseren eigenen Datenzentren auszuführen, zu aktualisieren und zu skalieren. Für uns war es deshalb eine Grundvoraussetzung, diese Arbeitsgänge auszulagern.”

Als zusätzlichen Bonus schenkt AWS Siemens Mobility Zugriff auf die enormen IoT-Datenmengen der Plattform, die das Unternehmen für vielseitige Anwendungsfälle einsetzen kann.

“In unserem AWS Data Lake können wir unstrukturierte Datensätze in Amazon S3 speichern und die Schema-on-Read-Technologie von Amazon Athena nutzen, um virtuelle Tabellen je nach Bedarf für konkrete Use Cases zu erstellen,” so Gloeckner. “Cloud-Dienste wie Amazon EMR, Amazon S3 und Amazon Athena geben uns viel mehr Flexibilität beim Umgang mit den Daten, als es On-Premises oder sogar mit anderen Cloud-Dienstleistern möglich gewesen wäre.”

Die Identität an erster Stelle

Ehe Siemens Mobility Services in den vollen Genuss der cloudbasierten Plattform kommen konnte, wurde klar, dass es auch beim Identitäts-Management Modernisierungspotenzial gab. Zunächst sah sich Gloeckner für sein Railigent-Projekt bei ein paar traditionellen Anbietern um, die ihn aber allesamt an die alten Probleme der On-Premise-Plattform erinnerten.

“Ihre Implementierung war äußerst komplex, der spätere Betrieb ziemlich kostenintensiv,” erinnert er sich. “Wir hätten jedes Update der Software-Anbieter in unserer eigenen Implementierung berücksichtigen müssen, was zu Ausfällen führen kann und zusätzliche Tests erfordert.”

Auch aus Sicht der Gesamtbetriebskosten waren traditionelle Lösungen nicht tragbar, weil allein für ihre Instandhaltung zwei oder drei Vollzeit-Angestellte nötig gewesen wären. “Das widerspricht einfach unserer Strategie,” so Gloeckner. “Wir möchten uns auf unsere Mission konzentrieren und mit einem SaaS-Service die Gesamtkosten der unterliegenden Infrastruktur und unserer Sicherheitslösungen überall dort, wo es möglich ist, reduzieren.”

Gloeckner machte sich auf die Suche nach einer cloudbasierten Identitäts-Lösung. Nach einer umfangreichen Internet-Recherche und intensiven Gesprächen mit AWS richtete er einen Demo-Account bei Okta ein.

“In wenigen Minuten stellte uns Okta diese unglaubliche Demo zur Verfügung, die uns vor Augen führte, dass Okta nicht nur eine Identitäts-Lösung ist, sondern auch ein Kundenportal,” so Gloeckner. “Okta ist praktisch gebrauchsfertig und enthält einige wichtige Anpassungsmöglichkeiten. Das wahre Potenzial des Dienstes wurde uns erst da klar. So begann das alles.”

Siemens Mobility Services war begeistert von der Benutzerfreundlichkeit und den geringen Betriebskosten von Okta und beschloss, mehrere Okta-Lösungen zu erwerben, sowohl im Bereich Workforce Identity (Universal Directory, Adaptive Multi-Faktor-Authentifizierung und Single Sign-On) als auch im Bereich Customer Identity (Autorisierung, Adaptive Multi-Faktor Authentifizierung, und B2B-Integration).

Der richtige Partner an der Seite

Als es für Siemens Mobility Services an der Zeit war, die neuen Okta-Produkte zu implementieren, holte sich das Unternehmen Unterstützung von UniCloud, einem auf digitale Identitäts-Lösungen spezialisierten IT-Provider.

Dabei wünschte sich Siemens Mobility Services einen Partner, der die Kluft zwischen der traditionellen IT-Umgebung des Unternehmens und den neuen cloudbasierten Lösungen überbrücken konnte.

“Wir lieben die Zusammenarbeit mit UniCloud,” so Gloeckner. “Sie verstehen das Okta-Portfolio bis in den letzten Winkel, was uns wirklich geholfen hat. Wenn man versucht, SAML und OpenID Connect gleichzeitig mit einer neuen Identitäts-Lösung einzurichten, wird es schnell ziemlich komplex. Die Einrichtung von OpenID in unseren mobilen Apps war besonders schwierig – dabei war UniCloud eine große Hilfe.”

Eine einheitliche Software-Landschaft

Mit der Unterstützung von UniCloud machte sich Siemens Mobility Services direkt an die Implementierung. Obwohl einige On-Premise-Komponenten beibehalten wurden, war die Reduzierung von Overhead mit einer Cloud-First-Umgebung das vorrangige Ziel. Heute sind beinahe alle Komponenten zu AWS migriert, was sich in einer Hybrid-Umgebung mit 80% Cloud-Anteil niederschlägt.

In einem ersten Schritt integrierte Siemens Mobility alle wesentlichen Applikationen in Okta. “Wir schützen damit die gesamte Entwicklungs-Umgebung unserer Abteilung,” so Gloeckner. “Das umfasst unser AWS-Login, mehrere AWS-Accounts, sichere Anmeldungen und Integrations- und Entwicklungs-Tools wie CloudCheckr, Jenkins, Nexus und SonarQube.”

Mit den vorkonfigurierten Integrationen im Okta Integration Network konnte das Unternehmen viel Zeit und Aufwand sparen. Statt stundenlang selbst zu programmieren und benutzerdefinierte Schnittstellen zu entwickeln, konnte Siemens Mobility Services neue Apps schnell und einfach integrieren.

Das API Access Management-System von Okta vereinfachte die Implementierung mit einem modernen API-Backend, das sich in AWS integriert und eine zentralisierte API-Verwaltung bereitstellt.

“Ich habe noch nie vorkonfigurierte AWS- oder ServiceNow-Integrationen bei einer Identitäts-Lösung gesehen,” so Gloeckner. “Wir haben wirklich jede App-Integration genutzt, die für unsere Use Cases verfügbar war. Neue Applikationen zu implementieren ist auch mit Standard-Protokollen komplex, doch mit diesen gebrauchsfertigen Vorlagen war es wesentlich einfacher.”

Flexible Sicherheit

In der letzten Phase der Implementierung führte Siemens Mobility Services die übrigen Okta-Lösungen in einem Schub ein. Mit Single Sign-On erleichtert das Unternehmen seinen Nutzern den Login-Prozess und reduziert dabei Ausfälle und Helpdesk-Anfragen bei Passwort-Verlusten.

Weil sensible Daten auf dem Spiel stehen, ist Sicherheit bei Siemens Mobility besonders wichtig. Jede IT-Komponente muss eine sichere, offene und flexible Cloud-First-Architektur unterstützen. Die gesamte Umgebung muss den stringenten Sicherheits-Standards und Vorgaben von Siemens entsprechen, und alle Verfahren sind ISO 27001 zertifiziert.

Mit einem Zero Trust-Sicherheitsmodell schützt Siemens alle Nutzer und Endpunkte mit starken Sicherheits-Tools und -Lösungen. Multi-Faktor Authentifizierung, die als Teil der übergeordneten Sicherheitsstrategie ausgerollt wurde, erweitert die gesamte Umgebung um eine flexible Sicherheitsebene – einschließlich der On-Premise-Komponenten.

“Wir haben auf Unternehmensebene viele anspruchsvolle IT-Sicherheitsregeln,” berichtet Gloeckner. “Deshalb nutzen wir nur Standard-Mechanismen, also Nutzername und Passwort, kombiniert mit Multi-Faktor Authentifizierung, für zusätzliche Sicherheit. Und wenn möglich kombinieren wir das mit Zugriffssicherheit auf Netzwerkebene.”

Dazu gehört auch eine starke Geo-Blocking-Richtlinie. “Wenn man eine Lösung für einen Kunden in Spanien hostet, wird vermutlich niemand aus Österreich oder Australien darauf zugreifen,” so Gloeckner. “Deshalb begrenzen wir allgemein den Zugriff auf eine geografische Region und implementieren dann starke Authentifizierung mit Protokollen wie SAML 2.0 oder OpenID Connect, die aus unserer Perspektive sozusagen das Herz von Okta bilden.”

“Wenn man ein Industriestandard-Protokoll falsch implementiert, könnte man damit Hackern die Türen öffnen,” meint Gloeckner. “Für Okta ist es unternehmenskritisch, dass Hacking-Angriffe zu 100% abgewiesen werden, und darauf können wir uns verlassen.”

Kunden im Fokus

Mit der Implementierung von Okta auf AWS konnte Siemens Mobility Services eine sichere, flexible Plattform entwickeln, die an jede Änderung im Unternehmen oder bei den Kundenbedürfnissen einfach angepasst werden kann.

“Wir integrieren stets neue Applikationen und Business Intelligence-Berichte im Portal,” so Gloeckner. “Mit Okta können wir immer mehr Kunden Zugriff zu unseren Services verschaffen. Und natürlich können wir Nutzer, die unsere Dienste nicht regelmäßig in Anspruch nehmen, ganz einfach löschen oder deaktivieren.”

Die Zeit und Ressourcen, die Siemens mit diesen schnellen und effizienten Abläufen einspart, kann das Unternehmen in die Entwicklung von neuen Lösungen und Produkten investieren.

Weil Okta alle Ausfälle zu 100% eliminiert hat, haben Kunden ihre Infrastruktur immer im Blick und können Transportmittel ohne Unterbrechungen orten.

“Die Verfügbarkeit von Okta schätzen wir besonders,” so Gloeckner. “Wir haben seit der Implementierung keinen einzigen Ausfall erlebt. Und darauf legen wir besonderen Wert, weil sich alle unsere Kunden auf Okta als zentrale Identitäts-Lösung oder Nutzerportal verlassen. Für uns ist es also unternehmenskritisch, die Verfügbarkeit dieser Identitäts-Komponente zu garantieren.”

Mit AWS konnte Siemens Mobility auch die Qualität der angebotenen Lösungen verbessern. Durch die Benutzerfreundlichkeit der AWS Management Console, des AWS Command Line Interfaces (CLI) und der AWS SDKs können nicht nur Entwickler und Administratoren, sondern auch weniger technisch versierte Mitarbeitende den Data Lake und andere Features problemlos nutzen. Diese Zugänglichkeit sorgt für geringere Antwortzeiten auf Kundenanfragen und erlaubt Mitarbeitenden, fundierte Entscheidungen zu treffen und Kundenwünsche individuell zu erfüllen.

Insgesamt konnten Kunden 10-15% an Strom- und Wartungskosten und 30-50% an ungeplantem Wartungsaufwand einsparen.

Vertraute Partner

Bei der Auswahl potenzieller Partner stellt Siemens Mobility hohe Anforderungen an deren Unternehmenskultur und Kundenorientierung. Mögliche Partner müssen zudem starke SaaS-Lösungen und Services bereitstellen.

“Wir glauben, dass moderne Software in einer CI/CD Pipeline integriert werden muss,” so Gloeckner. “Das bedeutet, dass die Services laufend verbessert werden, was aus Kundenperspektive praktisch automatisch geschieht. Genau das möchten wir unseren Kunden mit unserer Software bieten, und wir schätzen es, wenn unsere Partner diese Philosophie teilen.”

Und laut Gloeckner haben Okta und UniCloud diese Anforderungen nicht nur erfüllt, sondern übertroffen. “Was die kontinuierliche Verbesserung angeht, ist Okta wirklich großartig,” erklärt er. “Wir haben schon ein Dutzend große und kleine Serviceverbesserungen erlebt, und jedes Mal waren die Änderungen praktisch sofort einsatzbereit. Es wurden viele Features hinzugefügt, ohne dass es auf unserer Seite zu Einschränkungen kam – und im Software-Geschäft ist das nicht gerade einfach.”

Auch mit UniCloud blickt Siemens Mobility Services in eine rosige Zukunft. ”Bei regelmäßigen Meetings stellt uns UniCloud fortwährend neue Okta-Features vor,” so Gloeckner. “Es ist schön, wenn ein Unternehmen mit deinem Anwendungsbereich aufgrund gemeinsamer Projekte in der Vergangenheit bereits bestens vertraut ist. Bei unserem letzten Meeting haben sie uns ein neues Automatisierungs-Feature von Okta gezeigt und unsere Meinung eingeholt. Jetzt sind wir dabei, dieses Feature zu evaluieren, und haben tatsächlich vor, es einzusetzen. Die Zusammenarbeit ist einfach großartig.”

Über Siemens

Siemens ist ein weltweit tätiges Unternehmen mit dem Fokus auf Elektrifizierung, Automatisierung und Digitalisierung. Mit digitalen Innovationen hilft Siemens Mobility Services Mobilitätsdienstleistern weltweit dabei, smarte Infrastrukturen zu schaffen, nachhaltiger zu werden, den Passagierkomfort zu steigern und Verfügbarkeit zu garantieren.

Siemens Mobility Services Improves the Customer Experience with Okta

100+

Apps secured by Okta, including AWS, Azure AD, O365, and ServiceNow

0

Outages since implementing Okta

  • The drive to modernise
  • A successful demo
  • Deployment success
  • A reliable, flexible platform
The drive to modernise

Siemens Mobility Services provides customers with a state-of-the-art analytics and monitoring portal used to track vehicles and troubleshoot issues. But in order to eliminate outages, limit overhead costs, and reduce time-to-market for new products and features, the company realised it would need to modernise its on-premises infrastructure by moving to Amazon Web Services (AWS). To do this, Siemens Mobility Services needed a strong identity provider.

A successful demo

The company started looking at traditional identity service providers, but they were too complex to implement, expensive to maintain, and they introduced additional downtime risk. After consulting with AWS, Siemens Mobility Services tried an Okta demo. Delighted with the built-in dashboard and pre-built integrations, the company decided to purchase a range of Okta products.

Deployment success

For the deployment process, Siemens Mobility Services partnered with UniCloud, our added-value distributor, which specialises in digital identity solutions, including Okta. UniCloud helped Siemens Mobility Services implement SAML and OpenID Connect, and integrate Okta with all its major applications. Before long, all users were migrated into Okta’s Universal Directory and protected by Okta’s Single Sign-On and Multi-Factor Authentication solutions, which simplified and secured access to the apps they use most.

A reliable, flexible platform

With Okta in place, Siemens Mobility Services has completely eliminated downtime, which means its customers can always access the information they need, whenever they need it. By reducing overhead and maintenance time, the company is also able to focus on the things that matter most—the customer experience, and a reduced time-to-market. Best of all, these goals have been achieved without compromising security or usability.

We really like Okta’s availability. We haven't experienced a single instance of downtime since we deployed the service. This is really important for us because all of our customers use Okta as a central identity provider or a user portal, so it's really business-critical for us to ensure availability.

Friedrich Gloeckner, Team Lead Architecture and Software Development, Siemens Mobility Services

Benefits

  • Unified, streamlined experience
  • Increased visibility into access requests and analytics
  • Lower cost-of-ownership
  • Improved reliability
  • Modernised environment that’s approximately 80% cloud
  • Simplified deployment with access to a wide array of pre-built integrations
  • Reduced helpdesk requests due to lost and forgotten passwords
  • Flexible, ISO 27001 certified security that meets Siemens’ stringent standards and guidelines
  • 30-50% reduction in unplanned maintenance for customers

Keeping customers on track

As cities continue to grow and transportation infrastructure becomes more complex, it’s increasingly important for mobility operators to be able to track trains and vehicles, resolve delays, and correct infrastructure defects as quickly as possible. For many of these operators, Siemens Mobility Services is a valuable partner in their efforts to enhance the passenger experience and minimise interruptions.

“Ensuring efficient transportation is a key challenge for cities and mobility providers,” says Friedrich Gloeckner, Team Lead Architecture and Software Development at Siemens Mobility Services. “Our goal is to make their assets smart, sustainable, and more attractive.”

The company’s digital services department has a more specific mandate. According to Gloeckner, it’s the digital services department’s responsibility to “develop and implement the latest and greatest technology for rail maintenance and operation use cases, and to integrate, monitor, optimise, and analyse train and infrastructure assets.” The overall goal? To provide customers with reliable, secure access to critical insights with no downtime.

Rail assessments used to require inspectors to spot problems by reviewing video footage or physically assessing the tracks. This approach was not only expensive, it was also time-consuming--and there was plenty of opportunity for human error. It certainly wasn’t ideal in an industry where it’s critical to keep everything running on schedule.

Now, Siemens Mobility Services customers can detect issues using a video analytics app that uses machine learning to assess HD video recordings to spot defects more quickly and accurately. Better yet, when the app detects a problem, it automatically issues a work order for repair. The app, called Video Track Inspector, is available through Railigent, a centralised cloud-based application and analytics platform with AWS at its core. The platform was developed by Siemens in an effort to help mobility customers avoid unscheduled maintenance and decrease infrastructure downtime. “It's like a one-stop shop for rail and monitoring analytics software,” says Gloeckner.

If the user is a fleet manager, for example, they can sign-on to Railigent using a single set of credentials. From there, they’re able to locate and check the operational status of their trains. If they discover an unplanned outage, they can troubleshoot the issue--and they can do all of this without ever leaving Railigent. Mobility operators can even rely on Siemens Mobility’s analytics to predict when maintenance will need to be done. “This can help increase availability, and reduce maintenance and operations costs,” says Gloeckner. “That's what our customers really want.”

Getting to this point, however, required Siemens Mobility Services to significantly transform its IT environment. In 2014, the company was still relying almost entirely on a traditional IT environment with on-premises hosting and a number of large data centres. Siemens Mobility Services wanted to optimise the customer experience and create business value by speeding up its time-to-market for new solutions—and both of these goals were nearly impossible in a traditional IT environment.

Gloeckner confirmed this when Siemens Mobility attempted an on-premises version of Railigent. Gathering data in a siloed environment was incredibly difficult, and the on-premises components were time-consuming and expensive to build and maintain.

“That’s when we decided to move from on-premises operations to AWS so we could benefit from Platform-as-a-Service,” says Gloeckner. “It’s our overall strategy to use Platform- and Software-as-a-Service solutions to reduce our total cost of ownership where possible—because my major goal is to focus on my team and our business mission, and to generate value for our customers.”

Building the new platform on AWS allowed Siemens Mobility to easily consolidate data, while also reducing maintenance and producing more accurate results. The company accomplished this, in part, by using a combination of AWS services to develop a data lake.

"For us, a major appeal of AWS is access to services like Amazon Elastic MapReduce (EMR), which gives us the ability to run Hadoop clusters of any kind, at any scale, on demand, with pay-as-you-go pricing," says Gloeckner. "Offloading this kind of operations work was an absolute requirement on our end, because we had experienced how complicated it was to run, update, and scale complex solutions like Hadoop in our own data center."

As an added bonus, AWS also makes it possible for Siemens Mobility to tap into the vast amount of IoT data housed on the platform and apply it to a wide variety of use cases.

"In our AWS data lake, we can store large unstructured datasets in Amazon S3 and use the Amazon Athena schema-on-read capability to create virtual tables for specific new use cases as needed," says Gloeckner. "Cloud services like Amazon EMR, Amazon S3, and Amazon Athena give us much more flexibility in dealing with data than would be possible on premises or even with other public cloud providers."

Putting identity first

Before Siemens Mobility Services could fully dive into a new cloud-based platform, the company realised it would need to shift its approach to identity. When Gloeckner started working on the Railigent project, he initially looked at a few traditional identity providers, but he encountered many of the same issues he experienced while deploying the initial on-premises platform.

“They all turned out to be extremely complex to deploy and, later, very cost-intensive to operate,” he says. “Whenever the software vendor offers an update, you have to reflect that in your custom implementation, which can cause downtime and necessitate additional testing."

The total cost of ownership was prohibitive too, especially when the company discovered it would need to dedicate two or three full-time employees to operate and maintain a traditional identity solution. “This is not what our strategy is all about,” says Gloeckner. “We want to focus on our business mission, and use a SaaS service to reduce total cost of ownership of underlying infrastructure and security solutions, wherever possible.”

Gloeckner began looking for a cloud-based identity solution, and after an intensive internet search and an in-depth discussion with AWS, he signed up for an Okta demo account.

“Within just a few minutes, we received this amazing demo, and discovered that Okta is not only an identity provider solution, it's also combined with a customer portal,” he says. “Okta’s more or less ready to roll out, and includes some important customisation options. This is when we really understood the power of the service. This is how it all began.”

Delighted by Okta’s ease-of-use and low operational costs, Siemens Mobility Services decided to purchase a range of Okta solutions, including Workforce Identity products (Universal Directory, Multi-Factor Authentication, and Single Sign-On), and Customer Identity products (Authorization, Multi-Factor Authentication, and B2B Integration).

Partnering up

When it was time for Siemens Mobility Services to start deploying its new Okta products, the company partnered with UniCloud, an IT provider specialising in digital Identity solutions

Coming from a traditional IT environment, Siemens Mobility Services wanted a partner that could help guide them through the process of implementing these new cloud-based solutions, and UniCloud was able to help bridge that gap.

“We love to cooperate with UniCloud,” says Gloeckner. “They have an excellent understanding of the Okta portfolio, which helped a lot, because when you're trying to implement SAML and OpenID Connect alongside a new identity solution, that’s a complex scenario, especially when it came to implementing OpenID for our mobile apps—that's where UniCloud helped us a lot.”

A unified environment

With UniCloud at its side, Siemens Mobility Services jumped into the deployment process. While the company wanted to maintain some of its on-premises components, Siemens Mobility’s goal was to reduce overhead by moving to a cloud-first environment. Now, almost all components have been migrated to AWS, resulting in a hybrid environment that’s approximately 80% cloud.

Siemens Mobility’s first step was to integrate its major applications with Okta. “We use it to secure our departments' entire development environment,” says Gloeckner. “That includes our AWS login, multiple AWS accounts, our secure login, and continuous integration and development tools like CloudCheckr, Jenkins, Nexus, and SonarQube.”

The company was able to save a significant amount of time and effort during the integration process by tapping into the Okta Integration Network’s wide array of pre-built integrations. Instead of spending hours writing new code and building custom connectors, Siemens Mobility Services was able to integrate apps quickly and easily.

Okta’s API Access Management simplified the deployment process as well by providing a modern API backend that integrates easily with AWS and provides centralised API administration.

“I’ve never seen pre-configured integrations for a AWS or ServiceNow in an identity solution before,” says Gloeckner. “Whenever an application integration was available for one of our use cases, we used it. Implementing a new application from scratch, and using one of these standard protocols is a complex process, but it’s significantly easier if a ready-to-use template is available.”

Flexible security

Siemens Mobility Services completed the Okta deployment by rolling out the rest of the new solutions in one phase. Single Sign-On was put in place to simplify the login process for users, and reduce downtime and helpdesk requests due to lost and forgotten passwords.

Due to the sensitive nature of its work, security is paramount at Siemens Mobility. Each IT component is selected or built to support a secure, open, and flexible cloud-first architecture. The entire environment is managed according to Siemens’ stringent standards and guidelines, and all operations processes are ISO 27001 certified.

The company takes a Zero Trust approach to security, protecting all endpoints and users with strong security tools and solutions. Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) was deployed as part of the company’s overall security strategy, adding a flexible layer of security across the entire environment—including on-premises components.

“We have a lot of high-level IT security rules at the corporate level,” says Gloeckner. “We only use strong, market standard mechanisms, which means a username and password, always combined with multi-factor authentication for additional security. And whenever possible, we combine that with network-level access security.”

That includes a strong geo-blocking policy. “If you host a solution for a customer in Spain, it's not likely that someone from Austria or Australia will need to reach that solution,” says Gloeckner. “So we try to limit general access to a targeted geographical region, and then we implement strong authentication using protocols such as SAML 2.0 or OpenID Connect, which are basically the heart of Okta, from our perspective.”

“There's nothing worse than rolling out an industry-standard protocol in a way that opens doors for hackers,” says Gloeckner. “We rely on Okta, because it’s absolutely mission critical for Okta that no hacker attack is successful.”

Focusing on customer value

By implementing Okta on AWS, Siemens Mobility Services has built a secure, flexible platform that can be easily modified whenever there’s a change in company or customer needs.

“We’re continuously integrating new applications and business intelligence reports with the portal,” says Gloeckner. “We’re always helping additional customers access our  services through Okta. And, of course, we’ve also implemented measures to delete or disable users who aren’t using our services on a regular basis.”

All of this can be done quickly and efficiently, which allows Siemens to invest more time and resources in bringing new solutions and products to market.

Downtime has been completely eliminated as well, which means customers are always able to track their assets and assess their infrastructure.

“We really like Okta’s availability,” says Gloeckner. “We haven't experienced a single instance of downtime since we deployed the service. And this is really important for us, because all of our customers use Okta as a central identity provider or a user portal. So it's really business-critical for us to ensure availability of that identity or security component.”

AWS helps Siemens Mobility provide customers with a better product as well. Because the AWS Management Console, AWS Command Line Interface (CLI), and AWS SDKs are easy to use, everyone from developers and administrators to non-technical employees can access the data lake and other features. This access makes it easier for employees to decrease response times to customer inquiries, determine the best ways to meet customer needs, and make informed decisions. 

Overall, customers have seen a 10-15% reduction in maintenance and energy consumption and a 30-50 decrease in unplanned maintenance.

Trusted partners

When Siemens Mobility Services assesses a potential partner, it sets the bar high in terms of company culture and a commitment to customer service. Potential partners also need to be committed to providing strong SaaS solutions and services.

“We think modern software has to be integrated in a CI/CD pipeline, which means continuous service improvement is possible and that, from a customer perspective, it happens more or less automatically,” says Gloeckner. “This is exactly what we try to establish for our customers with our software, and we love to see that our partners act in the same way.”

According to Gloeckner, both Okta and UniCloud have met all these requirements and more. “Okta is really great at continuous service improvement,” he says. “We’ve seen a dozen major and minor service improvements, and it was always more or less an out-of-the-box experience for us. The company’s added features, but they’ve never broken anything on our end—and that’s not easy in the software business.”

It looks like Siemens Mobility Services and UniCloud have a long relationship ahead of them as well. “We have regular meetings with UniCloud where they show us new Okta features,” says Gloeckner. “It’s so nice when you’ve worked with a company in the past, and they know your use case. On our last call, they showed us a new automation feature on the Okta side and asked us what we thought. Now we’re evaluating the new feature, and we’re planning to use it. It’s just nice to work with them.”

About Siemens

Siemens is a global powerhouse focusing on the areas of electrification, automation, and digitalization. Siemens Mobility Services uses digitalization to enable mobility operators worldwide to make infrastructure intelligent, increase value sustainably over the entire lifecycle, enhance passenger experience, and guarantee availability.