L’aéroport de Gatwick déploie ses ailes avec Okta

Regarder la vidéo
Aucune

interruption en quatre ans

6 millions

de passagers supplémentaires par an depuis le déploiement

Plus d’un million

de livres d’économies IT et de gains de productivité annuels, avec une sécurité renforcée

Plus de 500 %

de retour sur investissement grâce à Okta

  • Stratégie cloud
  • Pilier de la gestion des identités
  • Lancement rapide
  • Configuration initiale
  • Réalité du modèle BYOD
  • Sécurité renforcée
  • Transformation
Stratégie cloud

En 2012, l’aéroport de Gatwick projette de transférer certaines parties de son infrastructure IT dans le cloud et de connecter 25 000 collaborateurs aux informations dont ils ont besoin.

Pilier de la gestion des identités

Okta réussit l’évaluation de sécurité exhaustive de Gatwick et est engagé pour aider l’équipe IT à connecter ses applications, ses services, ses comptes et ses identifiants, autant d'éléments en pleine expansion.

Lancement rapide

Deux semaines après avoir choisi Okta, l’équipe IT de Gatwick déploie une intégration avec Microsoft Active Directory et lance sa première application.

Configuration initiale

Gatwick déploie les solutions d'authentification unique (SSO), de provisioning et de réinitialisation des mots de passe, ainsi que des connexions SAML pré-intégrées à quatre applications, dont Box, Yammer et ServiceNow.

Réalité du modèle BYOD

Okta aide Gatwick à connecter 2 000 équipements personnels sur les pistes et dans les terminaux, ce qui permet à l’équipe IT de se concentrer sur l’expérience client, l’intégration et les services informatiques.

Sécurité renforcée

Gatwick met en place le service Okta Adaptive Multifactor Authentication (MFA), renforçant ainsi la protection des données de l’aéroport et des quelque 55 applications utilisées chaque jour par le personnel.

Transformation

L’aéroport de Gatwick affiche année après année une croissance phénoménale, avec 6 millions de passagers supplémentaires de 2012 à 2015 soit 20 millions de plus que le deuxième aéroport à piste unique le plus fréquenté au monde.

Gatwick est toujours ouvert. Okta est toujours activé.

L'aéroport de Gatwick a cherché un partenaire identitaire qui pourrait les garder en ligne, quoi que le monde leur jette. Écoutez ce que le DSI de Gatwick a à dire sur Okta.

Gatwick ne s’arrête jamais, et nous attendons la même chose de nos partenaires. Le service Okta était la seule solution capable de répondre à nos besoins techniques et opérationnels et à nos exigences de sécurité.

Michael Ibbitson, CIO, Aéroport de Gatwick

Opérationnel en permanence

Plus de 40 millions de personnes transitent chaque année par l’aéroport britannique de Gatwick. L’expression 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, 365 jours par an prend ici tout son sens. Les applications de l’aéroport doivent être disponibles en toutes circonstances — lorsqu’un avion atterrit à 3 h du matin, que le ministère des Transports renforce les protocoles de sécurité ou qu’une tempête hivernale paralyse le trafic aérien de toute l’Europe.

Le département IT joue un rôle capital à cet égard, puisqu’il s’efforce d’offrir aux passagers une expérience agréable, tout en veillant à la sécurité, à l’efficacité des opérations et à la fluidité des communications. L’équipe IT est omniprésente, qu’il s’agisse d’améliorer les systèmes de dépose bagages ou d’accélérer les contrôles d’immigration et de sécurité. Pour répondre à ces besoins, Gatwick a développé des systèmes technologiques spécialisés complexes, dont un vaste réseau de caméras de vidéosurveillance, des interfaces d’identification biométrique et des systèmes de séquencement des départs et de gestion de piste installés dans trois data centers on-premise.

Miser sur l’amélioration des communications

Lorsque Michael Ibbitson, CIO de l’aéroport de Gatwick, a pris ses fonctions en mai 2012, un nouveau data center était prévu, mais il a rapidement écarté le projet. Sous son impulsion, Gatwick a en effet préféré transférer ses opérations IT dans le cloud, partageant ainsi des informations en temps réel sur les vols avec les 25 000 collaborateurs de l’aéroport (et pas seulement ceux présents derrière le pare-feu) et instaurant une politique BYOD (Bring Your Own Device, utilisation des terminaux personnels dans le cadre professionnel) pour ses 2 600 salariés.

Plus de la moitié des effectifs de l’aéroport travaille dans l’exploitation, que ce soit au sein de l’équipe de sécurité, sur la piste ou dans les terminaux. À l’époque, ces personnes n’avaient pas accès à un ordinateur. À moins de faire une pause dans l’un des deux cybercafés de l’aéroport, elles ne pouvaient pas consulter leurs e-mails professionnels, accéder à l’intranet ou échanger en temps réel avec leurs collègues.

Michael Ibbitson a alors proposé d’inscrire la communication au cœur de la stratégie, pour permettre au personnel de l’aéroport de faire face aux menaces et de travailler efficacement. « Nous voulons que l’expérience IT des collaborateurs soit formidable, explique-t-il. Selon nous, ils n’en seront que mieux équipés pour offrir à leur tour une expérience d'exception aux passagers. »

Une évaluation rigoureuse

Le défi suivant consistait à trouver des partenaires pour mener à bien les nouveaux projets IT. Pour collaborer avec le deuxième aéroport britannique, les partenaires de Gatwick doivent répondre à des critères de sécurité très stricts. Gatwick traite en moyenne sept éléments de données à caractère personnel par passager. Multipliez ce chiffre par 40 millions et vous aurez une idée de l’ampleur de la tâche.

Pour assurer sa transition cloud, Gatwick devait impérativement trouver un fournisseur de solutions de gestion des identités capable de gérer et de sécuriser toutes ces données, en faisant le lien entre des applications, services, comptes et identifiants toujours plus nombreux.

Lors de l’évaluation des candidats, Okta s’est hissé en tête de liste. L’équipe de Gatwick s’est envolée pour San Francisco, où elle a passé trois jours à examiner les procédures de sécurité d’Okta et à vérifier ses certifications et processus. « Okta a su nous prouver que leur solution était un véritable service d’entreprise, capable de répondre à nos besoins techniques et opérationnels spécifiques et à nos exigences de sécurité », conclut Michael Ibbitson.

Des systèmes opérationnels

Deux semaines après avoir choisi Okta, l’équipe IT de Gatwick déployait une intégration avec Active Directory et lançait sa première application. « Ce qui nous a vraiment aidés, c’est la facilité de configuration initiale d’Okta », assure Michael Ibbitson.

La première mouture comprenait les solutions d'authentification unique (SSO), de provisioning et de réinitialisation des mots de passe, ainsi que des connexions SAML préintégrées à quatre applications, dont Box, Yammer et ServiceNow. « Okta nous a permis d’effectuer nous-mêmes de mini-audits pour vérifier si les travaux se déroulaient comme nous l’entendions », poursuit Michael Ibbitson.

Un programme BYOD a suivi, qui couvre désormais 2 000 terminaux avec authentification SSO intégrée. « Ce qui est formidable avec Okta, c’est qu’on n’a pas besoin de client lourd, souligne Michael Ibbitson. Il suffit d’un Mac et d’un navigateur, ou d’une tablette sur le tarmac. » Depuis ces changements, l’équipe IT peut se concentrer sur l’expérience client, l’intégration et les services.

Aujourd’hui, Gatwick utilise également le service Okta Adaptive Multifactor Authentication (MFA) pour protéger les données de l’entreprise et les quelque 55 applications utilisées chaque jour par ses collaborateurs. Le principal avantage ? Okta aide l’équipe de Gatwick à comprendre et à identifier les applications exigeant une protection multifacteur. Les applications telles que Casper, un système de suivi des avions qui utilise les informations de vol accessibles au public, n’ont pas besoin des mêmes facteurs de sécurité que le portail RH de Gatwick, par exemple.

Les administrateurs peuvent imposer différentes mesures de gestion des accès aux applications sans modifier l’expérience de connexion des utilisateurs. Gatwick n’a plus à choisir entre efficacité, ergonomie et sécurité ; Okta lui offre les trois à la fois.

À l’avenir, l’équipe de Gatwick pourra développer de nouveaux outils qui seraient impensables sans Okta. Michael Ibbitson est formel : « Il y a beaucoup de potentiel dans ce que nous faisons actuellement. »

Depuis que nous travaillons avec Okta, les interruptions sont très rares. Le fonctionnement de nos applications ne nous cause aucun souci, et nous savons que le personnel est parfaitement informé.

— Michael Ibbitson, CIO, Aéroport de Gatwick

La transformation décolle

En une seule journée d’août 2014, 906 avions ont décollé de l’aéroport de Gatwick, soit un avion toutes les 63 secondes, ce qui constitue un record mondial pour un aéroport à piste unique. 40 millions de passagers ont transité par l’aéroport de Londres-Gatwick en 2015, dont 96 % ont passé les contrôles de sécurité en moins de cinq minutes.

L’aéroport a atteint des taux de croissance remarquables — 6 millions de passagers supplémentaires depuis que Michael Ibbitson est devenu CIO. L’équipe attribue à Okta un rôle déterminant dans cette réussite. « Depuis à peu près quatre ans, nous n’avons eu aucun temps d’arrêt à déplorer », affirme Michael Ibbitson. En permettant à l’équipe IT de simplifier les processus et d’éliminer l’ancienne infrastructure, Okta a aidé l’aéroport à économiser plus de 200 000 livres de dépenses IT.

Les gains de productivité sont estimés à 700 000 livres, puisque les collaborateurs ont désormais accès aux informations dont ils ont besoin et peuvent travailler à leur propre rythme grâce au libre-service. « Grâce à notre stratégie IT, Gatwick est devenu l’aéroport le plus efficace au monde », se félicite Michael Ibbitson.

Okta facilite l’attribution et le retrait des tâches et des droits d’accès aux données des différentes équipes, mais offre également un système de pointe pour surveiller l’infrastructure, chiffrer les données et détecter toute activité suspecte. Michael Ibbitson chiffre l’apport d’Okta en matière de sécurité à 200 000 livres, l’essentiel étant bien évidemment la protection des 40 millions de passagers de l’aéroport.

À propos de l’aéroport de Gatwick

L’aéroport de Gatwick est le deuxième du Royaume-Uni et l’aéroport à piste unique le plus efficace au monde. Il dessert près de 200 destinations (plus qu’aucun autre aéroport britannique) dans 90 pays et offre des services point à point sur des vols courts et longs courriers empruntés par plus de 40 millions de passagers. Avec environ 21 000 emplois sur l’aéroport et 10 000 autres postes dans les activités annexes, c’est un moteur économique majeur pour le sud-est de l'Angleterre.

Okta

Gatwick airport takes flight with Okta

Watch the Video

See More from Gatwick Airport:

Blog EntryPress Release

Zero

downtime in four years

6 million

additional passengers served annually since deployment

>£1M

annually in IT savings, productivity benefits, and increased security

500%+

ROI on Okta investment

See More from Gatwick Airport:

Blog EntryPress Release

Cloud vision

In 2012, Gatwick Airport lays plans to transition segments of its IT infrastructure to the cloud and connect 25,000 workers to the information they need to do their jobs.

Identity management cornerstone

Okta passes Gatwick’s exhaustive security evaluation, and is hired to help the IT team connect its expanding set of applications, services, accounts, and credentials.

Quick launch

Within two weeks of choosing Okta, Gatwick IT rolls out an integration with Microsoft Active Directory and launches their first app.

Initial build-out

Gatwick rolls out SSO, provisioning, password reset, and pre-built SAML connections to four apps, including Box, Yammer, and ServiceNow.

BYOD reality

Okta helps Gatwick connect 2,000 personal devices on the airfield and in the terminals, freeing IT to concentrate on customer experience, integration, and IT services.

Security beyond a doubt

Gatwick implements Okta’s adaptive multifactor authentication service, adding another layer of protection for airport data and the 55+ apps that workers use every day.

Transformation

Gatwick Airport reports phenomenal growth every year—up 6 million passengers from 2012 to 2015 and 20 million more than the next busiest single-runway airport in the world.

Gatwick is always open. Okta is always on.

Gatwick Airport sought an identity partner that could keep them online, whatever the world threw at them. Hear what Gatwick's CIO has to say about Okta.

Watch the full video

Gatwick Airport never shuts down, and we expect the same from our partners. Okta's enterprise-grade service was the only solution that could meet our technical, operational, and security requirements.

Michael Ibbitson, CIO, Gatwick Airport

Always operational

More than 40 million people pass through the United Kingdom’s Gatwick Airport every year. In the truest sense, theirs is a 24/7/365 operation. They need their applications to be available in any situation—when a plane arrives at 3am, when the Department of Transport tightens security protocols, when a winter storm grounds flights across Europe.

IT plays an important part in ensuring that the passenger experience is fantastic and innovative while also maintaining tight security, efficient operations, and seamless lines of communication. IT has a hand in everything from improving bag-drop systems to speeding passengers through immigration and security. To handle those needs, Gatwick developed complex, specialized technology systems including an extensive CCTV network, biometric scanning interfaces, airfield management and departure sequencing systems housed in three on-premise data centers.

Taking a bet on better communication

When Michael Ibbitson, CIO of Gatwick Airport, arrived on the job in May of 2012, he was faced with plans for a new data center—which he promptly rejected. Instead, Gatwick began moving IT operations to the cloud, sharing real-time flight status with all 25,000 airport workers (not just those behind the Gatwick firewall) and implementing a bring-your-own-device (BYOD) policy for its 2,600 employees.

Over half of the airport’s staff work in operations: in security, on the airfield, or in the terminals. At the time, they didn’t have access to a computer. Unless they took time away from their work to stop at one of two Internet cafes, they couldn’t get company email, intranet access, or real-time staff communication.

Ibbitson’s proposal put communication at the center of the strategy, giving airport workers a renewed ability to respond to threats and work efficiently. “For employees, we want to make their experience of IT fantastic,” Ibbitson explains. “By doing that, we believe they’ll ensure passengers get a fantastic experience as well.”

Rigorous evaluation

Finding partners that could deliver on the new IT vision was the next challenge. To work with the second largest airport in the UK, Gatwick partners must meet stringent security requirements. For every passenger, Gatwick processes an average of seven pieces of personal data. Multiply that by 40 million passengers per year, and you have an idea of the scope.

An identity management provider that could manage all that data and keep it secure would be key to Gatwick’s cloud transition, serving as the connective tissue for an expanding set of applications, services, accounts, and credentials.

As the team evaluated candidates, Okta rose to the top of the list. The Gatwick team flew to San Francisco and spent three days working through Okta’s security procedures, validating its certifications, and auditing its processes. “Okta proved that it has an enterprise-grade service that could meet our specific technical, operational and security requirements,” Ibbitson concluded.”

All systems go

Within two weeks of choosing Okta, Gatwick IT rolled out an integration with Active Directory and launched their first app. “What was really helpful and powerful for us was how easy it was to set up Okta initially,” says Ibbitson.

The initial build out included SSO, provisioning, password reset, and pre-built SAML connections to four apps, including Box, Yammer, and ServiceNow. “Okta allowed management to perform mini audits ourselves to make sure all work was proceeding as we needed it to,” says Ibbitson.

A BYOD program followed, which now includes 2,000 devices with SSO integration built in. “What’s great about using Okta is that you don’t need a thick client,” Ibbitson says. “All you need is a Mac with a Web browser or a tablet on the airfield.” These changes have freed IT to concentrate on customer experience, integration, and services.

Today, Gatwick also uses Okta’s adaptive multifactor authentication (MFA) service to protect corporate data and the 55+ apps that employees use every day. The biggest benefit? Okta helps the Gatwick team understand and identify which applications need MFA protection. Apps such as the aircraft tracking app Casper, which uses publicly accessible flight information, don’t need the same security factors as Gatwick’s HR portal, for example.

Administrators can designate different access management measures across applications without changing the login experience for users. No longer does Gatwick have to choose between efficiency, usability and security. With Okta, they can have all three.

Looking ahead, Okta enables Gatwick’s team to build new tools that otherwise wouldn’t have been possible. Ibbitson summarizes it neatly: “There’s lots of future power involved in what we’re doing."

Since working with Okta, we’ve seen minimal downtime. We don’t have to worry about whether or not our apps are up and running—or if our staff know what’s happening.

— Michael Ibbitson, CIO, Gatwick Airport

The transformation takes off

On one day in August 2014, a total of 906 flights took off from Gatwick Airport. That’s one takeoff every 63 seconds—a global record for single-runway airports. 40 million passengers passed through London Gatwick in 2015, with 96% of them getting through security in five minutes or less.

The airport has achieved remarkable growth rates—up 6 million passengers since Ibbitson became CIO. The team credits Okta with a significant role in that success. “For the past four years or so they’ve been running with absolute zero downtime,” says Ibbitson. By allowing IT to streamline processes and sunset legacy infrastructure, Okta has helped the airport save more than £200k in IT expenses.

Productivity is up an estimated £700k because people can access the information they need and leverage self-service to get tasks done on their own schedules. “Thanks to our IT strategy, we’ve made Gatwick the most efficient airport in the world,” says Ibbitson.

Okta makes it easy to assign and unassign duties and data access to various personnel, but it also offers a cutting-edge system for monitoring the infrastructure, encrypting data, and detecting unusual activity. Ibbitson puts the value of Okta’s security contribution at £200k, but that hardly tells the story when you’re talking about 40 million passengers.

About Gatwick Airport

Gatwick Airport is the UK’s second largest airport and the most efficient single-runway airport in the world. It serves around 200 destinations (more than any other UK airport) in 90 countries for over 40 million passengers a year on short and long haul point-to-point services. It is a major economic driver for the South-East region, generating around 21,000 on-airport jobs and a further 10,000 jobs through related activities.